En Route to Polokwane and Pastures New, June 2nd.

12 06 2013

I’m using my two weeks’ leave from Outward Bound duties to visit fellow volunteers at different projects around South Africa, and I’ve managed to make last-minute (as mine invariably are) arrangements to spend a week with four of my mates working at a school in Polokwane, Limpopo province.
It should be good to see a new part of South Africa and visit the girls up there who I haven’t seen since we spent ten mortal days and nights in Cape Town during the Christmas and New Year holidays. I’m on the bus now, a trusty Translux contraption that should be arriving in Polokwane in a couple of hours. As I’m moving steadily further north, I’m beginning to see the subtle differences in civilisation up here compared to the places where I tend to spend my spare time on the South coast, which are much more westernised. Also, it’s VERY hot up here for this time of year compared with down south! (This as far as I’m concerned is nothing to complain about.)

More to follow once I’ve actually arrived.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment